ICC has Officially unveiled the schedule for the 2024 Men's T20 World Cup
2024 Men's T20 World Cup: ICC Unveils Tournament Schedule and Hosts

The International Cricket Council ICC has finalized the Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 schedule, so brace yourselves for an action-packed tournament set to take place next year, promising exhilarating matches and unforgettable moments on the pitch. Prepare for an exhilarating series of matches and intense showdowns as the tournament unfolds. With the joint hosting by the West Indies and the USA, cricket fans around the globe are eagerly anticipating a captivating cricket carnival. Let’s look at the T20 World Cup 2024 schedule and what thrilling experiences await all cricket enthusiasts during this sporting spectacle.


Cricketing Fiesta – June 4 to June 30:

The tournament will take place in the USA and the West Indies from June 4 to June 30 next year. Matches will be hosted at 10 venues, with Florida, Morrisville, Dallas, and New York being considered as possible venues in the US.

Qualification Process:

Papua New Guinea secured a place in the T20 World Cup by topping the ongoing East Asia Pacific Qualifier in the Philippines. Ireland and Scotland also qualified for the event by finishing as the top two European Region Qualifier teams. Additionally, one qualifier from the Americas and two from Asia and Africa each will be confirmed in the coming months through regional qualifying events, according to the ICC’s decision.

Participating Teams:

The participating teams for the T20 World Cup 2024 include Australia, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and Sri Lanka, as they finished in the top eight of the Men’s T20 World Cup 2022. The West Indies and the USA will participate as host nations. Bangladesh and Afghanistan have also secured direct qualification based on their ICC rankings in T20Is. In addition to these 12 teams, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, and Ireland will also participate, while the remaining five teams will be confirmed through regional qualifying events.

New Tournament Format:

The upcoming T20 World Cup will feature a new format. The 20 participating teams will be divided into four groups of five in the first round. The top two teams from each group (8 teams in total) will advance to the Super 8s group stage. In the Super 8s, the teams will be further divided into two groups of four. The top two teams from each group in the Super 8s will proceed to the semi-finals, and the winners will compete in the grand final on June 30, 2024.

Also Read: ICC Cricket Awards 2022: Nominees List and Categories Revealed

How useful was this article?

Please rate this article

Average rating / 5. Vote count:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here